the countdown begins

In a little less than a month, I will be in Roanoke competing for the job of Miss Virginia 2013. I have had so many amazing experiences up to this point! I truly have so much to be thankful for, from the amazing group of titleholders I have had the pleasure of spending this year with to the love and support of my family, friends, volunteers, and amazing director, Mariah! I am so happy to be in such a great place mentally, spiritually, and emotionally in preparation for this opportunity of a lifetime.

149824289.SYzwOucr.DSC_0920

With Mariah at the final local pageant of 2013

149797621.4wht4ojl.DSC_9822

I want to thank all of you who have supported me with your words of encouragement, friendship, and the help you have provided. It really takes a village to send a girl to Miss Virginia! Okay, so that isn’t the actual saying, but it might as well be!! :) I have been so touched by the willingness of so many people to help me along this journey. I have had Ryan Lightner write me a recommendation letter with turnaround time of one day (!), emailed back and forth with Vicki & Harlan to get proper signatures, been given loaner car from Airport Road Auto Center, had Hester take her personal time to find earrings to match my competition gown…and these are only a few examples. My family and the MGR team have bent over backwards to make things happen time and time again. I would not be telling the truth if I didn’t say there have been a lot of stressful moments along the way! Each time I am certain I am going to drop one or more of the many balls I am juggling, I lean on God and have faith that He will work out the details. It may sound like a crazy method, but every time things work out (often at the last minute) I cry out with thanks and praise for yet another miracle.

Miss Virginia Workshop 2013

Miss Virginia Workshop 2013

I am also so happy to say that I graduated with a Master’s Degree from UVA this month! Obtaining this degree often felt like an impossible task and there were many times I wanted to give up. With the support of many others, I persevered and am so proud of this accomplishment.

UVA Final Exercises May 19, 2013

UVA Final Exercises
May 19, 2013

Before I return to talent rehearsals, interview prep, Pure Barre workouts, Miss VA send-off parties, and other Miss Greater Richmond events, I would also like to include a special shout out to my sister queen, Phyllicia, Miss Hanover. Thanks so much for your encouragement, compassion, and humor over the past months. I have been so blessed to have you as someone who “gets it” and a “partner-in-crime” along this journey. I look forward to more memories ahead and an amazing week at Miss Virginia! xo!

IMG_2056

Miss Greater Richmond & Miss Hanover Charity Golf Tournament
Who let us drive this thing?!

Miss Virginia Workshop 2013

Miss Virginia Workshop 2013

Thanks again for following my journey and for your support! I hope to make you all proud in just a few short weeks!

xo, CEF

2 thoughts on “the countdown begins

What did you think?

